Friday, 11 February 2011

This is some information I found on the Greek the Gods By Aidan Codd

The Olympian gods were the main deities in Ancient Greece. After overthrowing their ancestors, the Titans, the Olympian gods became the rulers of the Cosmos representing the civilization of the world.The Olympian gods were majestically and democratically dwelling on Mount Olympus, the highest mountain in Greece, built by the Cyclopes. The leader of the Olympian gods was Zeus.

The gods were born and grew just like human beings, some of them even married, however they were unaging and death never came to them. They lived inside human-like bodies with an ethereal fluid called ichor running in the veins. They had passions and human weaknesses and were many times at fault, but were then obliged to take the full responsibility of their actions.

Greek myths always refer to the twelve Gods of Mount Olympus, but in total there were more Olympian Gods in Greek Mythology. However, there were never more than twelve at one time. The four alternative gods were Hestia, Hades, Dionysus and Demeter, depending on the location.


The sensual god of Love and Beauty


The youthful god of the Sun and the Music


The fierce god of War


The wild goddess of the Hunt


The sophisticated goddess of Wisdom and Arts


The natural goddess of the Harvest


The joyful god of the Wine


The gloomy god of the Underworld


The ill-favored god of Metallurgy


The mature goddess of the Family


The cunning god of the Trade


The calm goddess of the Hearth


The moody god of the Seas


The heavenly King of the Gods and ruler of mankind

( Greek Gods .info ,2005: )

No comments:

Post a Comment